Heceta Head Lighthouse light goes dark
Florence OR – The Heceta Head Lighthouse light was turned off January 10 for a long-awaited restoration and preservation project on the crumbling 1894 lighthouse. The light will remain off while restoration work occurs. That work, which could take as much as two years to complete, is expected to begin in February.
Although the lighthouse tower will remain closed for the entirety of its restoration work, the parking lots and trail are open now that the first phase in the major renovation at the site has been completed. Phase one involved reshaping and repaving the west parking lot to improve drainage and repair erosion damage, a chronic problem at the site.
The picturesque park is well known for its iconic lighthouse, beach and historic lighthouse keepers’ bed and breakfast. The historic assistant lighthouse keeper’s house, which the U.S. Forest Service operates through a concessionaire as a bed and breakfast operation, remains open through the renovations. The park welcomes more than 800,000 visitors each year.