Tillamook Rock Lighthouse
West of Tillamook Head, this lighthouse was constructed on top of a rock 1.2 miles seaward off Tillamook Head in 1881. The construction of this particular lighthouse was thought to be incredibly risky, but its five workers beat the odds. Because this lighthouse was built on a rock, it is not accessible to the public. However, visitors can easily see it and a beautiful view of the surrounding ocean from Ecola State Park and Seaside. This lighthouse stands 133 feet above sea level with 62-foot-high tower on basalt rock islet. Exposure to storm waves led to the nickname "Terrible Tilly." It was replaced by a whistle buoy in 1957 and is the only privately owned Oregon coast lighthouse on the National Registry of Historic Places; now used as a columbarium, a storage place for ashes of the deceased.